Popeyes Gluten Free Menu Items and Options – GlutenBee

Popeyes Gluten Free Menu Items and Options – GlutenBee

Popeyes is a popular fried chicken fast food chain in America. Their story started forty-seven years ago in New Orleans, Louisiana. What began with one small restaurant and one big idea turned into a craze that swept the nation—and the world.

What is gluten free at Popeyes?

In this article and guide, we’ll highlight all the gluten free menu items, sides, and other gf options available at Popeyes. Want to learn more nutrition facts about Popeyes’ foods? Check out their nutrition and allergens page here.

Popeyes Gluten Free Menu

These are all the gluten free options we could find at Popeyes. Note all items listed below do not contain wheat or gluten, based on the Popeyes menu. These items still have the potential for cross contamination and other traces of gluten, so please keep that in mind.

Notice anything missing or incorrect? Leave a comment below. This article was last updated: October 7, 2021

Popeyes only lists the following items as gluten free in their nutrition information guide. However; we’ve listed all items that are free from wheat below. They are most likely at high risk for cross contamination.

Popeyes listed GF items:

  • Applesauce
  • Cajun Rice
  • Red Beans & Rice
  • Coleslaw
  • Jalapenos

Chicken

These are all of the chicken options at Popeyes that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients.

  • Naked Tenders

Sides

These are all of the side options at Popeyes that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients.

  • Corn on the Cob
  • Cajun Rice
  • Coleslaw
  • Jalapenos
  • Red Beans & Rice

Breakfast

These are all of the side options at Popeyes that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients.

  • Grits*
  • Hashbrowns

May contain gluten. High risk

Sauces

These are all of the sauce options at Popeyes that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients.

  • Ranch
  • Sweet Heat
  • Mardi Gras Mustard
  • Cocktail
  • Tartar Sauce
  • Creamy Horse Radish
  • Blackened Ranch

Drinks

These are all of the drink options at Popeyes that do not contain wheat or gluten ingredients.

  • Coke
  • Diet Coke
  • Sprite
  • Fanta Strawberry
  • Fanta Orange
  • Hawaiian Punch
  • Mountain Dew
  • Pepsi
  • Diet Pepsi
  • Dr Pepper
  • Unsweetened Tea
  • Sweet Tea
  • Orange Juice
  • Coffee

popeyes food

Photo: Popeyes Facebook page

Items to Avoid at Popeyes

These items all contain gluten or have a very high risk for gluten contamination:

  • Unfortunately the barbecue sauce has wheat/gluten.
  • All breaded items contain gluten.
  • Both the cajun fries and the mashed potatoes contain wheat/gluten.

Summary of Gluten Free Menu Options at Popeyes

Pro tips and a quick summary of everything gluten free at Popeyes

  1. When you order at the store, drive through, or even online, tell them you have an allergy or Celiac Disease so they take precautions with your drinks and food.
  2. Popeyes has very few options for people with gluten allergies. The risk for cross contamination is extremely high there.
  3. Popeyes has primarily 1 star reviews on Find Me Gluten Free indicating no gluten free options. All reviews mentioned the low options and even the fries are breaded at Popeyes.
  4. The sauces are really good if you want to get them to have with other food. Other than that, there are very few options here unfortunately. 🙁

Source: Popeyes Facebook page

More Information about Popeyes

Looking for additional information about Popeyes, their foods, and nutritional/ingredients facts? Here are some resources we’ve found:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *