Opened 15 May 1926 – now the unique Café 229 with cinema memorabilia to be enjoyed while you have a meal or coffee.
On Saturday evening [15 May 1926] the new Capitol Picture Theatre was opened by Mr A R G Hawke, M.P. Mr Hawke said the building was what the town had required for years. It could now boast of a hall second to none in the State, He wished the proprietors every success, and had great pleasure in declaring the theatre open. The building, which is situated in Main street west, is 50 ft wide and 140 ft long. The body of the hall is 50 ft by 100 ft.
The dress circle will seat 220, the stalls 600, and the pit 200, a total of 1,020.
It was designed primarily as a picture hall, but was constructed so that theatrical parties can use it also. Special attention has been paid to the ventilation, the ceiling being of lattice work, and 12 electric fans having been installed. All the woodwork is polished blackwood. At the main entrance on either side are two shops. The vestibule is lined with tiles, and the wall is tiled to a height of 12 ft.
On the ground floor are the ticket offices, manager’s office, and ladies’ retiring rooms. The stage is 50 ft long and 25 ft wide, with two dressing rooms at the back.
The proprietors are Messrs H W and Thos. Rees.
The contractors were Messrs Silver and Ollrich, of Rosewater.
Mr Matthews, of Adelaide, was responsible for the decorations, and Mr Lowe, of Port Adelaide, had charge of the lighting.
Ref: Chronicle (Adelaide) 22-5-1926
Tagged: , stained , glass , windo , monogram , Peterborough , Capitol , theatre , H W & Thomas Rees , Silver & Ollrich , contractors , cinema , cafe , memorabilia , Goyder’s , Line